Representative Information for 2017

WCJR Code of Conduct: PDF
WCJR Code of Conduct: Word

2017 Coaching Applications

Coach Application forms for all Representative teams are now open for the 2017 season.
Applications open: Monday 13th March 2017
Closing dates for applications:
> 7th April – Gwynne Shield Rep Coach Applications Close – Rep Notice Link – Link to: 2017 Gwynne Shield Application
> 5th May- U45kg Invitational Coaches Applications Close – Link to: 2017 Under 45kg Invitational Application
MacKenzie Cup Coaches Applications close – Link to: 2017 MacKenzie Cup Application

All application forms are to be emailed or posted to Graham Wallace (WCJR Rep Convenor). Graham Wallace email address: All applicants are to attend interviews at WRU offices – date TBC

Last year’s 2016 Gwynne Shield, Under 45kg Invitational and MacKenzie Cup coaches do not need to fill in the application form, but do need to email an expression of interest to Graham Wallace. All new coaches need to submit an application form. All applicants must have completed the compulsory Small Blacks course for 2017. All successful applicants will then be required to attend a meeting at WRU offices- date TBC.

A reminder there is no application for Bowers. We will continue with the 2016 format – our four Goord Cup teams will become our 4 Bowers representative teams.

Rep Committee Minutes:


Coach Application Form: 2017 Under 45kg Invitational Application
Goord Cup / Bowers
This has in the past been a two day trial for players under 45kgs to make the two Bowers representative teams. This year it will work differently. The Goord Cup will be a warm up tournament for all teams; Southern Reds, Western Greens, Eastern Whites and the Northern Blues and then all four teams will go onto represent our area in the Bowers Tournament.

The composite teams are:
Northern Blues: Huntly, Taupiri, Ngaruawahia, Te Kowhai, Suburbs
Southern Reds: Melville, Frankton, Raglan
Western Greens: Fraser Tech, Ham Old Boys, Te Rapa
Eastern Whites: Marist, Varsity, Southwell – Coach: Royce Martin 0278092606

These clubs are expected to get together and organise a team to enter this competition, by nominating players from each club, so a trial can be held and a team be fairly selected. The coaches of these teams will become our Bowers Coaches.

The Goord Cup Tournament will take place: TBC

Details for this competition – 2015 Goord Cup Competition (2016 Goord Cup Competition yet to be received)

The Bowers Cup Tournament will take place every Sunday in August i.e., 7 August, 14 August, 21 August and 28 August. Venues to be confirmed by Morrinsville organising committee.

The Under 45kg Invitational Tournament – This tournament has replaced the old Goldfields Tournament. The tournament is for players under 45kgs. It is played over three weekends in September – opening day held in Te Awamutu on Sunday 4 September, during the second weekend the Hamilton Teams play each other either on Saturday 10 September or Sunday 11 September, and closing day is held in Te Aroha on Sunday 18 September.

The teams in this competition are: WBOP (Western Bay of Plenty), Thames Valley, Te Awamutu, King Country, Hamilton Gold (A team) and Hamilton Black (B team).

Hamilton area selection criteria is:

– They must have played either in the Gwynne Shield or Bowers tournament to be eligible for selection.

– Year 8 or below.

– Under 45kgs.


Coach Application Form: 2017 Gwynne Shield Application
> 14th May- Gwynne Shield 1st trial – Swarbrick Park, Frankton- 9.30-10.45am weigh-in and registration. 11.00am kick-off

> 21st May- Gwynne Shield 2nd trial – Swarbrick Park, Frankton- 9.30-10.30am weigh -in and registration for players who did not attend 1st trial. 10.45am kick-off

Gwynne Shield Rugby is a prestigious tournament that is run by the Waikato Primary School’s Rugby Committee. This tournament has a lot of history as it started way back in 1921. This tournament is for young boys and girls who are 57kgs and under, who are Year 8 or below. Normally the players come from the intermediate school level, however you do have the odd Year 6 who is an exceptional player that does get selected.
This is a school based tournament which means you must trial for the team in the area in which you go to school. The other difference is, you don’t have to play rugby to be eligible but you still must trial to enable selection.
All players who play in this tournament have the opportunity to be selected for the Waikato Roller Mills.
Our WCJR Board has five teams which participate in the Gwynne Shield Tournament.

PANTHERS: Coach for 2017:TBC
Maeroa Intermediate, Raglan, Forest Lake, St. Columbus, Frankton, Crawshaw, St. Peters Chanel, Rotokauri, Whitiora, Aberdeen, Rhode St, Te Mata, Te Uku, Whatawhata, Waitetuna
TIGERS: Coach for 2017: TBC
Fairfield Intermediate, Pukete, Hukanui, Te Rapa, Bankwood, Insoll Ave, Vardon, Puketaha, St. Andrews, Hamilton North, Fairfield Primary, Woodstock, Te Totara, Waldolf.

WASPS: Coach for 2017: Jimmy Heta
Peachgrove, St. Josephs, Newstead, Marion, Matangi, Knighton Normal School, Southwell, Tamahere, Hamilton East, Te Ara Rima (5th Avenue), Eureka, Silverdale, Tōku Māpihi Maurea

EAGLES: Coach for 2017: TBC
Melville Intermediate, Berkley Intermediate, Glenview, Rukuhia, Hillcrest, Hamilton West, Deanwell, Koromatua, Richmond Park, Melville Primary, Hamilton Seventh Day Adventist, St. Pius, South Christian School.

NORTH WAIKATO: Coach for 2017: TBC

Bernard Ferguson, St. Josephs Ngāruawāhia, Waipa Primary, Rakaumanga, Huntly Primary, Kimihia, Huntly West, Horotiu, Gordonton, Ngāruawāhia Primary, Horsham Downs, Rototuna Junior High, Hamilton Christian School, Endeavour, Rototuna, Te Kōwhai, Ohinewai, Waingaro and Glen Massey.

Teams to be named and team sheet emailed to Graham Wallace by 24 May 2017 – Coaches may select a team of 23 players (22 players with 1 reserve)

2017 Gwynne Shield Dates: (to be confirmed)
2015 Gwynne Shield Rules and Draw (2016 Rules and Draw yet to be received)
2015 Gwynne Shield Individual Players Form (2016 Rules and Draw yet to be received)


Coach Application Form: 2017 MacKenzie Cup Application
Mackenzie Cup Tournament- 27th August 2017- Venue TBC.
This is a tournament that was started by Cambridge Junior Rugby about 6 or 7 years ago for the bigger rugby players. However for the past 2 years Hamilton have picked up and continued to run this tournament. This tournament is for players under 75 kgs, however each team can have up to five players over 75kgs. Usually players from the 12th and 13th Grades. All players who play in this competition have the opportunity to be chosen for the NZ Harlequins Under 13’s Team.

2017 U13 MacKenzie Cup Rules
2017 MacKenzie Cup Team List
2017 MacKenzie Cup History

We have two teams:

Hamilton West. Coach for 2017: TBC
(Melville, Frankton, Raglan, Fraser Tech, Hamilton Old Boys, & Te Rapa)

Hamilton East. Coach for 2017: Paul Martin
(Varsity, Southwell, Marist, Suburbs, Te Kōwhai, Taupiri, Huntly & Ngāruawahia)


advertisement advertisement