Representative Information for 2021

WCJR Code of Conduct: PDF
WCJR Code of Conduct: Word

2021 Gwynne Shield (U57kg) Coaching Application 

Click Here: Gwynne Shield Application 2021

Gwynne Shield is back in 2021 to celebrate 100 years as a junior rugby tournament. Hamilton teams have a proud association with the Gwynne Shield and we are excited to see it going ahead to celebrate its centenary. The decision was only made very recently to host the tournament under its normal format.
We are urgently seeking applications for coaching positions for all 5 Hamilton teams. With such a small window before the tournament, we will close applications on Thurs 27 May. Details are as follows.
* Trial/Muster: Sun 30th May, 9.30am at Swarbrick Park, Frankton.
*Tournament dates: Sun 11th July through to and including Sun 18th July
 *Venue: Memorial Park, Cambridge.
 If you have any further questions please call Graham Wallace: 027 3425278.


Maeroa Intermediate, Raglan, Forest Lake, St. Columbus, Frankton, Crawshaw, St. Peters Chanel, Rotokauri, Whitiora, Aberdeen, Rhode St, Te Mata, Te Uku, Whatawhata, Waitetuna

Fairfield Intermediate, Pukete, Hukanui, Te Rapa, Bankwood, Insoll Ave, Vardon, Puketaha, St. Andrews, Hamilton North, Fairfield Primary, Woodstock, Te Totara, Waldolf.

Peachgrove, St. Josephs, Newstead, Marion, Matangi, Knighton Normal School, Southwell, Tamahere, Hamilton East, Te Ara Rima (5th Avenue), Eureka, Silverdale, Tōku Māpihi Maurea

Melville Intermediate, Berkley Intermediate, Glenview, Rukuhia, Hillcrest, Hamilton West, Deanwell, Koromatua, Richmond Park, Melville Primary, Hamilton Seventh Day Adventist, St. Pius, South Christian School.


Bernard Ferguson, St. Josephs Ngāruawāhia, Waipa Primary, Rakaumanga, Huntly Primary, Kimihia, Huntly West, Horotiu, Gordonton, Ngāruawāhia Primary, Horsham Downs, Rototuna Junior High, Hamilton Christian School, Endeavour, Rototuna, Te Kōwhai, Ohinewai, Waingaro, Glen Massey, Te Ao Marama


Gwynne Shield Rugby is a prestigious tournament that is run by the Waikato Primary School’s Rugby Committee. This tournament has a lot of history as it started way back in 1921. This tournament is for young boys and girls who are 57kgs and under, who are Year 8 or below. Normally the players come from the intermediate school level, however, you do have the odd Year 6 who is an exceptional player that does get selected. This is a school-based tournament which means you must trial for the team in the area in which you go to school. The other difference is, you don’t have to play rugby to be eligible but you still must trial to enable selection. All players who play in this tournament have the opportunity to be selected for the Waikato Roller Mills. Our WCJR Board has five teams that participate in the Gwynne Shield Tournament.



advertisement advertisement